Vegetable Soup

thecatwhocookbook

So you have heard of my sister blog: janeaustenrunsmylife.wordpress.com, but I have another sister blog. This one is thecatwhowroteablog.wordpress.com. This blog covers all the books in The Cat Who… mystery series, making recipes mentioned in the book from The Cat Who Cookbook. This recipe is from there.

Now you may wonder, why didn’t I just repost the blog post, like I did for Pride & Prescience (Or a Truth Universally Acknowledged) ? Well thecatwhowroteablog does things a little differently than I do. They post every recipe they make from the particular book in one post, while I like to draw it out doing one at a time.

Thoughts Before Cooking:

I was looking for recipes to use that were low sodium and such for my nana who was visiting. This  recipe was perfect for the cool day and her dietary restrictions.

FoodBorderbanner

Ingredients:

  • 2  14.5 Ounce Cans of Vegetable Broth
  • 1/2 Cup of Chopped Onion
  • 1/2 Cup of  Chopped Celery
  • 1 Clove Garlic, Minced
  • 1 Cup of Sliced Carrots
  • 1 Cup of Diced Potatoes
  • 1 Bay Leaf
  • 1/4 Cup of Barley
  • Salt & Pepper to Taste

Directions:

  1. Place all the ingredients in a pot and simmer, covered, until vegetables are tender and are cooked.
  2. Remove the bay leaf before serving.
  3. Serves 4-6 people.

FoodBorderbanner

FoodBorderbanner

Thoughts After Cooking:

While thecatwhowroteablog used lentils instead of barely, I went the way the recipe is actually written.

So my soup wasn’t as good as thecatwhowroteablog claimed this recipe was. I think that mostly had to do with the fact that my grandmother with health issues was joining us, and I had to use the low sodium bland vegetable broth.

It wasn’t horrible, but with regular broth it would have tasted a whole lot better.

FoodBorderbanner

For more soup recipes, go to Zucchini-Tomato Soup

For more low calorie recipes, go to Dark Choco Almond Butter Cookies

For more recipes, go to Cheesy Pesto Pull Apart Bread

Leave Your Thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.