The Yellow Room

yellowroom

The Yellow Room by Mary Roberts Rhinehart

Thoughts Before Reading:

I have only read one other mystery by Mary Roberts Rhinehart, The State Versus Elinor Norton. I thought it was boring, predictable, and I did not like it.

I never would have picked up another one of her books, but this was free and she is considered  one of “the grand dames” of mysteries and the “American Agatha Christie”, so I thought I would give it another shot.

bannerbooks-border-black-and-white

Plot Synopsis:

The book is set during World War II. Our main character is Carol Spencer. Her fiancé is believed dead and Carol at loose ends and grieving;

To give her something to do, her mother sends her out to open the old holiday home in Maine, Crestview.

Carol loved it as a child, but now it has creepy elements.

And in the linen closet, Carol finds the dead, burned body of a girl.

Nooo!

Soon Carol is suspected as the killer, even though she has a rock-solid alibi. It is up to her to figure out who the murderer is.

bannerbooks-border-black-and-white

Thoughts After Reading:

SO BORING I HATED IT.

Mary Roberts Rinehart, I don’t think I’ll be reading you anytime soon.

For more mysteries that are not in a series, go to The Madwoman Upstairs

For more book reviews, go to The Hyde Park Murder

Leave Your Thoughts

