Two-Cheese Roasted-Veggie Pasta

Pasta Noodles

I wanted to pair Paper Roses with this chili recipe I have, but I can’t find the recipe book ANYWHERE. Oh well, when I find the cookbook, I’ll post it. Until then, I have a different recipe for you all.

FoodBorderbanner

Thoughts Before Cooking:

I found this recipe out of a Good Housekeeping magazine, August 2016 issue. It is low-calorie, healthy, and vegetarian. I had to tweak the recipe a bit as I didn’t like some of the ingredients.

FoodBorderbanner

Ingredients:

  • 1 Pint of Grape Tomatoes
  • 2 Large Summer Squash
  • 1 Small Red Onion
  • 3 Tablespoons of Olive Oil
  • 1/2 Teaspoon of Salt
  • 8 oz of Whole-Wheat Fusilli (Or a pasta of your choice: I used Campanelle)
  • 1/4 Cup of Pecorino Cheese (Can be substituted by Parmesan)
  • 1/2 Cup of Part-Skim Ricotta or Cottage Cheese (I did cottage as I hate ricotta cheese)
  • Basil

Directions:

  1. Prepare the pasta according to package directions.
  2. While the pasta is cooking, slice the grape tomatoes in half.
  3. Chop the squash into 1/4 an inch pieces
  4. Slice the onion.
  5. Toss the vegetables, olive oil, and salt in a bowl; then arrange on a rimmed baking sheet.
  6. Bake at 450 degrees F for ten minutes
  7. Remove the sheet and rotate, baking for ten more minutes.
  8. Toss vegetables, pasta, and 1/4 cup of the Pecorino or Parmesan cheese.
  9. Dollop with ricotta or cottage cheese and garnish with basil. Serves ~ 4

FoodBorderbanner

20161028_184619

FoodBorderbanner

Thoughts After Cooking:

I loved it!

fantastic

In fact just reading this makes me want to make it again…and eat it all.

Rachel_pasta_ooh_mine_eating_stuff

FoodBorderbanner

For more pasta recipes, go to Orecchiette with Red Onions, Almonds, and Green Bell Pepper

For more Good Housekeeping recipes, go to Arugula Salad with Olive Oil, Lemon, and Parmesan Cheese

For more vegetarian recipes, go to White Bean and Barley Soup with Tomatoes and Greens

For more low calorie recipes, go to Lemon Scones

Leave Your Thoughts

