C is for Corpse

c is for corpse

C is for Corpse (Kinsey Millhone #3) by Sue Grafton

Thoughts Before Reading:

I love my mysteries to challenge me, I love it when an author has completely bamboozled me. The truth being there the whole time, but I was too busy following a red herring to figure it out.

yougotme

Now if a book cannot surprise me, they must bring my admiration instead through their amazing characters.

ilikeyou

This book falls into the second category.

murdershewrotecharactermostimportant

In this book I figured out very quickly who the murderer was, but I didn’t care. I liked Kinsey Millhone and I so enjoyed these writings of Grafton that I continued reading all the way to X.

Cantstopreadingupallnight

bannerbooks-border-black-and-white

Plot Synopsis:

So in this book, Kinsey is still recovering from the events that occurred in B is for Burglar. Part of her physical therapy and improvement is going to gym and working on her arm.

One day she meets a young man in his ’20s, Bobby Callahan. Bobby was in a horrible accident; being covered in scars, and his face and body misshaped. He tells Kinsey that he doesn’t remember anything that happened in that time period. However, he does have this feeling of urgency that he knew something and someone was after him. He believes the car accident was an attempt on his life.

plotthickens

He and Kinsey become friends and he hires her to investigate, doing a retrograde crime with very little to go on.

lets-do-this-ucas-gif

Kinsey begins and meets his family; a stepsister who is a drug addict, anorexic, and probably has a ton of other issues;

Idon'tthinkso Idontseeit

a stepfather that doesn’t know how to father and is bland;

im_bored_himym

and his mother, a real powerhouse but also control freak.

what have i gotten myself into star trek next gen

Three days later Bobby is dead.

luke-noooo-o

Split on whether accident or suicide, Kinsey becomes even more intent on searching for the murderer and to bring justice to Bobby.

avenged

bannerbooks-border-black-and-white

Thoughts After Reading

*Contains Spoilers*

So I thought this was well written, but was really sad.

poutsad

I loved Bobby. I hate when authors introduce such great characters but then kill them off. Lillian Jackson Braun is another writer that always seems to do that. They just love breaking our hearts.

peanutbutter-fills-heart

I also thought that Kinsey was a little slow on the ball here. If we know the woman who was having an affair with Bobby’s secret, it being that she and her lover killed her previous husband; hid it to look like a burglary, and he is now threatening to expose the gun used with her fingerprints: well then, I think it is safe to assume that as she remarried, she probably married her lover of the time.

duh

And as that lover is her husband, then you shouldn’t trust the husband.

alwaysthedoctor_mrs-mcgintysdead

I still enjoyed the book though and think it is a great read.

fellintoabookcan'ygetup

bannerbooks-border-black-and-white

For more Kinsey Millhone mysteries, go to B is for Burglar

For more mysteries with female private investigators, go to Snagged

For more mysteries with female private investigators, go to  A Study in Scarlet

For more mysteries involving mysterious car accidents, go to Cape May Court House: A Death in the Night

Leave Your Thoughts

