Chocolate Covered Cherry Delights

cherry-clipart-black-and-white-Cherry-clip-art-29

When ever I try to review something that has a titular recipe, such as in Joanne Fluke’s work; I try to do a recipe that matches the title. For instance I made chocolate chip cookies to go with Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder, strawberry shortcake to go with Strawberry Shortcake Murder, etc. But sometimes when I find myself with a book title of a food I don’t like I find myself in an awkward position trying to search for another recipe to use.

In this case, I HATE cheesecake of all kinds.

yuck_pirates_of_the_caribbean

So instead of that I decided to do something different, but still had to do with cherries as that was the theme of the book. I choose the recipes Chocolate Covered Cherry Delights from Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder.

chocolatechipcookiemurder

Thoughts Before Baking:

This recipe appealed to me because I like chocolate covered cherries. I figured they must be as equally good in a cookie.

baking banner

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup of Melted Butter
  • 2 Cups of White Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/2 Teaspoon of Baking Powder
  • 1/2 Teaspoon of Baking soda
  • 1/2 Teaspoon of Salt
  • 2 Teaspoons of Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Cup of Cocoa Powder
  • 3 Cups of Flour
  • 2 small 10-oz jars of
  • 1 package of chocolate chips
  • 1/3 Cup of condensed sweetened milk
  1. Melt Butter and mix in sugar.
  2. Let mixture cool and add eggs.
  3. Mix it thoroughly and then add baking powder, baking soda, salt, vanilla, and cocoa, stirring after each addition.
  4. Add flour and mix well.
  5. Drain cherries and remove stems, reserving juice.
  6. Roll dough into walnut size balls with your fingers.
  7. Place on a greased cookie sheet.
  8. Press down the on the center of the cookie with your thumb to make an indentation, placing the cherry inside.
  9. In a saucepan over simmering water, combine the chocolate chips and condensed milk. Heat on low until chips are melted.
  10. Add ~1/8 cup of cherry juice and stir into a thick sauce.
  11. Spoon sauce over the center of each cookie, covering the cherry.
  12. Bake at 350 for 10-12 mins. Let it cool.

baking banner

Chocolate Covered Cherry Delights

baking banner

This was really good but a little too sweet for my taste.

joker-yum

I ended up having to half the syrup drizzle as I only had one cup of chocolate chips instead of a whole package, but it worked out pretty well. I only missed a few cookies.

gotthis

My biggest problem in making these was that there was no picture as to see how much chocolate should I drizzle. I had to guess with some cookies having a little chocolate and others having a whole lot.

idon'tknowwhatI'mdoing

But everyone else loved them and thought they were fantastic. In fact I took them to a party and they were gobbled up instantly.

fantastic

baking banner

For more recipes from Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder, go to Regency Ginger Cookies

For more Hannah Swenson recipes, go to Apple Orchard Bars

For more cookie recipes, go to Cocoa M&M Cookies

For more desserts, go to Sour Cream Lemon Pie

For more recipes, go to Irish Soda Bread

Leave Your Thoughts

