Brioche French Toast

cupcake_kisses-valentine's_day_cards_for_kids-nancy_kubo-daiquiri-pink

Happy Valentine’s Day

I know you all are thinking, what? Valetine’s Day is Sunday. Yes, you are right, but I thought that I would post a great recipe to make for your loved one today, just in case anyone out there needed any ideas.

My-Fathers-Daughter-by-Gwyneth-Paltrow

Thoughts before Cooking:

Ever since I have heard the word “brioche” uttered by Hugh Jackman in Kate & Leopold I have wanted to sample some of my own. I was like yes, give me some.

And later in the film he makes this yummy dish for her breakfast:

kate&leopoldStrawberrieontoasts

I don’t know what it was, but when I looked through this cookbook and I saw Challah or Brioche French Toast, I just heard Hugh Jackman’s voice in my head saying “brioche” with that amazing accent and had to make it.

Of course it is not exact as I am on a budget and can’t get the same things Gwyneth Paltrow can afford to buy

baking banner

Ingredients:

  • 1 Teaspoon of Vanilla Extract
  • 2 Large Eggs
  • 1 Cup of Milk
  • 1 Loaf of Brioche or Challah Bread
  • 2 Tablespoons of Unsalted Butter
  • 1 Teaspoon of Sugar
  • 1 Banana Peeled, or 1 case of Strawberries
  • Powdered Sugar
  • Maple Syrup

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, whisk the vanilla and eggs.
  2. Add the milk, and whisk the whole mixture
  3. Melt the butter in a large skillet over medium heat
  4. Dip the bread in the egg mixture and place in the pan.
  5. Sprinkle the top with a little bit of sugar.
  6. Cook for 2 minutes, or until brown, and flip over.
  7. Repeat step 5.
  8. Remove toast to plate and top with fruit and powdered sugar
  9. Add maple syrup and enjoy.

baking banner

BriocheFrenchToast

baking banner

Thoughts After Cooking:

I loved this.

fantastic

It was so good I’ve made it three more times since then. Just absolutely delicious.

baking banner

For more recipes from My Father’s Daughter, go to Spaghetti Limone Parmeggiano

For more French Toast, go to Pumpkin French Toast

For more breakfast dishes, go to Breakfast Puffin Muffins

For more holiday recipes, go to Oven-Crispy Creole Seasoned French Fries

Leave Your Thoughts

